Town of Simmesport

Leslie Draper III, Mayor

372 Mission Drive Post Office Box 145

SIMMESPORT, LOUISIANA 71369

Board of Aldermen

District 1: Ted Turner
District 3: Myron K. Brown

District 2: Kenneth L. Marsh District 4: Sherman R. Bell

Alderman-At-Large: Jacob Coco

JANUARY 9, 2017 Town Meeting Minutes

Minutes of the regular meeting of the Mayor and Board of Aldermen of the Town of Simmesport held at the Simmesport Town Hall on Monday January 9, 2017, at 6:00 p.m.

Presiding: Mayor Leslie Draper III

Members Present: Ted Turner, Myron Brown, Kenneth Marsh, Sherman Bell, Jacob Coco Members Absent: none

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Draper and was opened with a prayer given by Alderman Myron Brown followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

A motion was made by Alderman Marsh and seconded by Alderman Bell that the minutes of the December 12, 2016 meeting be approved as read. All aldermen present voted in favor and the motion was carried.

A motion was made by Alderman Marsh seconded by Alderman Bell that the bills for the month of December/January be paid. All present voted in favor and the motion was carried.

A motion was made by Alderman Bell and seconded by Alderman Coco to rename/dedicate Hwy. 1 to Mr. Joe Simon Blvd. All alderman present voted in favor and the motion was carried.

A motion was made by Alderman Marsh and seconded by Alderman Coco to approve a roadblock for the VFW in November, and also to reserve the park for the annual car show in September, 2017. All alderman present voted in favor and the motion was carried.

A motion was made by Alderman Coco and seconded by Alderman Bell to make Assistant Chief Michael Grissom the new Chief of Police for the Simmesport Police Department. All alderman present voted in favor and the motion was carried.

A motion was made by Alderman Coco and seconded by Alderman Turner to name Dacia Adams as the new Town Clerk for the Town of Simmesport.

All in favor: Jacob Coco, Myron Brown, Sherman Bell, Ted Turner

Nays: Kenneth Marsh

Reports were given by each department.

- 1. Town Attorney- Johnson Law Firm
- 2. Engineer-Jeremy Hebron
- 3. Utility Superintendent- Frankie Bordelon
- 4. Police Report- Michael Grissom
- 5. Town Clerk- Dacia Adams

There being no further business to come before the board, a motion was made by Alderman Turner and seconded by Alderman Brown that the meeting be adjourned. All present voted in favor and the motion was carried.

Dacia Adams, Town Clerk

Leslie Draper III, Mayor